The Iran Visa on Arrival

December 25, 2020

The application for issuing the Iran tourist visa on arrival can be made directly at some of the main entry points such as international airports or even in some of the southern ports of the Persian Gulf. The number of these entry points is increasing, but for now the following airports / ports are among the so-called places where they issue visas on arrival for tourist travel to Iran:

IKA: Imam Khomeini International Airport in Tehran
THR: Mehrabad International Airport in Tehran
SYZ: Shiraz International Airport
ISF: Isfahan International Airport
MHD: Mashhad International Airport
TBZ: Tabriz International Airport
BND: Shahid Bahonar Port in Bandar Abbas
KIH: International Airport in Kish

Since it is not possible to guarantee the issuance of the visa for Iran on arrival, we recommend that you apply for it at the Embassy of the Islamic Republic of Iran in Rome or the Iranian Consulate in Milan and then leave calmly.

Those interested in obtaining Iran visa on arrival should keep in mind that to expedite the issuance of Iran visa on arrival at Iranian international airports such as IKA, they must take the following measures (at least two days before of the trip):

– Apply for an e-Visa application by clicking on the following link: NEW APPLICATION.

– Present a paper copy of the dispatch notice at the Visa counter upon Arrival at IKA airport or other entry points. The notice would be available once after completing the online visa application form. You can ask a tourist agency to fill it in for you. If you have already filled out the form, the submission notice will be available via the following link: CHECK APPLICATION STATUS.

Documents required for issuing Iran visa upon arrival

To apply for an Iranian visa it is absolutely necessary that each applicant presents himself on the day of the appointment at the visa center already in possession of all the following documents:

  1. Completed application forms (they can be requested and filled in directly at the consulate or downloaded from the embassy website and filled in previously);
  2. Two passport-sized photos (you can take them anywhere, even in the street vending machines);
  3. Passport with residual validity of at least 6 months at the time of entry into the country (two consecutive free pages and no entry stamp in Israel);
  4. Health insurance covering the entire duration of the stay in Iran (already stipulated or to be stipulated at the airport in Iran);
  5. Round trip ticket;
  6. Confirmation of hotel reservation in Iran (The reservation can also be for one night only, the important thing is that there is);

* Please note
Documents must be produced in original and delivered in English (or translated into Persian).

To make an appointment, you can register on the embassy website or go to the Iranian Consulate personally, take the number and wait for your turn. In Milan there is a dedicated desk dedicated to the request and it does not take long to wait for the visa to be issued.
After being called to deliver the documents and leave handprints, hopefully, the consular fee of 75 euros per person is paid and a receipt for the withdrawal of the passport with a visa is given. This receipt must be kept carefully because with it anyone can collect the passport, even those who are not the owner.
It takes about two weeks to collect the passport with the Iran visa valid for a stay of up to one month.

The address of the Iranian Consulate:
Via Monte Bianco 59 – 20149 Milan (MI) 45.478279.14597
The address of the Iranian Embassy in Rome:
Via Nomentana, 361, 00162 Rome, Italy

Who can apply for Iran visa on arrival?

Iranians are hospitable and invite all the people of the world to visit their wonderful country. The procedure for applying for an Iranian tourist visa for citizens of many countries has been greatly facilitated by the Iranian government and the proposal for reciprocal visa waiver programs with some nations is announced.
Most, but not all, citizens of all countries can apply for an Iran visa and get it probably without any problems. The Iran visa on arrival usually lasts for 30 days. The procedure for obtaining an Iranian visa as for any other country depends on your nationality. Currently it is possible to obtain a visa on arrival for Iran for citizens of 70 countries of the world among which are:
Azerbaijan, Albania, Germany, Argentina, South Africa, Austria, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Spain, Australia, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Ukraine, Italy, Ireland, Bahrain, Brazil, Brunetti, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia Herzegovina, Portugal, Peru, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, China, Denmark, Russian Federation, Romania, Japan, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Oman, France, Palestine, Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, Qatar, Croatia, South Korea, North Korea, Cuba, Kuwait, Georgia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Poland, Malaysia, Hungary, Mongolia, Mexico, Norway, New Zealand, Venezuela, Vietnam, the Netherlands, Yugoslavia and Greece.
There are some restrictions on issuing visa on arrival for citizens of some countries. All European citizens can apply for an Iran visa on arrival at the entry points except British citizens.
Compared to other continents, citizens of Somalia, Jordan, Colombia, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Iraq and Pakistan cannot obtain a visa at the airport and must apply at the Iranian Embassy or Consulate of the country where they are resident. Also, citizens of UK, Canada and USA cannot get Iranian visa on arrival and must submit their visa application 30-50 days prior to paratire and their travel must be group. For the duration of their trip to Iran they must be accompanied by an authorized tour guide.
** Please note: “This is provisional information. Please check with the airline or travel agency before traveling to Iran. Laws and regulations can be changed without notice “.

Countries whose citizens are visa-free for short stays

There is an exemption from the entry visa requirement for stays from 15 to 90 days for tourism, mission, business, invitation, sports competition and study for citizens of Lebanon, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia, Egypt and Syria. On the expiry date of the residence permit, it is possible to request renewal from the Immigration Police.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WhatsApp chat